February 13, 2013


Wednesday - Snowy, then clearing and warm

A good day.

I slept a little late today, but nothing to complain about. It was my day off after all.  I got up, ate breakfast, read part of the paper, watched a little TV, did a little bit of computer stuff and took a nap.

And that’s what I was doing when F phoned me.  He invited me out for lunch, so I had to hurry up and get dressed so I could meet him.  I did, and we went to his favourite local Chinese restaurant.  We had a good lunch, but F had to leave early and I had ordered something that didn’t cool down quickly, so I couldn’t finish it before he left.  I told him I’d pay and then walk home. It’s only a few blocks.  

I walked, but popped into a bank to get my passbook fixed.  It became demagnetised so it wasn’t much use to me!  The walk home was nice, the sun was out and the roads weren’t busy.  

I had a nice and quiet rest of afternoon.  I cleared a little snow from F’s parking space and then I did dishes.  I had a good day of mail too.  No postcards, but I received my AFWJ Journal, my order from Tengu and my Bookmooches today.  Yay!

F came home a little late tonight.  I was watching Wife Swap which was a tad odd.  They had an Evangelical Christian Wife swap with an Atheist Wife who loved getting tattoos!  It was quite fractious for a while.  Interesting in a way, but obviously set up to be as polarising as possible.

F and I had dinner in Cocos.  They had a special on for Valentine’s Day Mud Pie, so we shared one for dessert.  It was quite nice.  Not a banana in sight, so I liked it!  We hit up the grocery store on the way home and I got ingredients to make soup tomorrow.  We also picked up a pizza.  We’ve never really eaten pizza as part of a meal at home before.  F isn’t a big pizza fan.  

We had a fairly quiet evening.  We watched a bit of TV, F set up the bread maker again, and then went to bed.  I’m up late as usual.  

Tomorrow I have to scan some cards, make soup and perhaps go to the post office and mail a few cards. Wish me luck with that!  Night.

2 comments:

Mieko said...

Happy Valentine. Helen, do you dislike banans? I laughted. Because my elder dauther doesn't like one. It's not a suitable expresioon, she "can't" eat bananas, once she smells banana, she feels sick. Actaully when she was little, she had a slice of banana to conquer her banana-sickness (our family call the symptom),but as soon as she had it, she threw up. Now she is adult, so she doesn't seem to threw up if she had bananacake a little.

Helen said...

I really don't like bananas! I don't like the texture or the smell.

I'm surprised to hear your daughter doesn't like bananas either! Most people here tell me they love bananas. I don't get sick from them, but I just don't like them at all.

Thanks for visiting today :-)